Jersey Shore Personal Injury and Employment Specialists

How New Jersey’s expanded “Move Over” law can save lives

On Behalf of | Mar 15, 2024 | Car Accidents |

All states have some kind of “Move Over” law that requires drivers to slow down or move into another lane if they approach emergency services vehicles and personnel working on or at the side of the road. New Jersey’s law used to cover ambulances, police cars, fire trucks and tow trucks.

Just recently, the law was expanded to include disabled vehicles on the road or the shoulder that have their hazard lights or other type of warning indicator on. Drivers who fail to abide by the law can be fined anywhere from $100 to $500. This type of violation doesn’t add points to one’s driving record.

How breakdowns and minor accidents can result in fatalities

Too often, a minor accident or a flat tire can turn deadly because another driver strikes a motorist, either in their car or outside of it, while they’re on a shoulder or otherwise pulled to the side of a road. According to AAA, between 2017 and 2021, close to 2,000 people were killed in this country while they were standing outside their disabled vehicle. One official with AAA called the change to the law a “life-saving measure.” Our neighbors in Pennsylvania, Connecticut and Delaware also have similar protections in their “Move Over” laws.

If something has happened to your vehicle, it’s always safest to pull off the road if possible, turn your hazard lights on and remain inside as you call for help. The chances of being seriously or fatally injured are much greater if you’re outside your car.

Of course, that’s no excuse for a driver striking a person or vehicle that’s on the side of the road. If you or a loved one has been injured or killed by another driver while dealing with a disabled vehicle, it’s important to get the justice and compensation you deserve. By getting legal guidance as soon as possible, you can help to protect your rights.